玛莎•斯图尔特生活中心, 美国, 纽约州, 纽约市
 x 
玛莎•斯图尔特生活中心
纽约州, 纽约市, 美国

贝氏建筑事务所延续与西奈山医学中心长期的合作关系,设计了面积7,800平方英尺的一流现代化的诊所。这座新的设施可容纳将在未来15年间增长30%的就医病患。

2007年10月7日,玛莎˙斯图尔特将该中心献给了她的93岁的母亲Martha Kostyra。斯图尔特女士捐赠了500万美元给西奈山来改建此机构以及改变人们面对老化的态度。该中心将为患者提供临床护理与教育,为医生提供培训并协调配合健康老化的研究。

中心作落于医学中心的主要校园区。一个新入口天蓬设计,使其继续保持独立的特性,并且与医院的其余部分区隔。一棵象征长寿与美好的盆景树提议为诊所的标志。精致的材料与光线充足的公共空间沿著秩序演展而相互融合,为诊所的设计创造出了一种与禅宗类似的简朴的美。透明及半透明的固定或滑动玻璃隔墙更增添了这一效果。

所有检查室均设置了为轮椅通行的无障碍通道,宽敞充足的空间可供病患者及其家人陪护共同使用。仪器设备以及病房布置为以强化病者及家属的舒适而设计。

老年病学领域面对的难题,不仅是生命的延长,而且是是生存的质量。因此,新诊疗中心一个重要组成部分是为病患者提供学习教育及用于进行体能锻炼、瑜珈术等健身活动房间,以及利用现代先进科学技术使医护人员能够与众多远距离病患者进行一对一相互交流及教育活动,还包括医疗病历记录及帐目结算等。

西奈山亦为一所教学医院,因此便于实习医生使用成为诊所的另一重要课题。这些设施包括一间配有单向镜的观察室以及一间空间极大扩展的辅导医生室,观察室可用于关注检查而不被察觉,辅导医生室用于审查与讨论病历。

MARTHA STEWART CENTER FOR LIVING AT MT. SINAI, NEW YORK, NY, UNITED STATES
 x 
MARTHA STEWART CENTER FOR LIVING AT MT. SINAI
NEW YORK, NY, UNITED STATES

Continuing its long association with Mount Sinai Medical Center, Pei Partnership Architects completed the design of a 7,800 sq. foot state-of-the-art geriatric wellness clinic: The Martha Stewart Center for Living. The new facility allows for a 30% increase in patient caseloads over the course of the next 15 years.

On October 7, 2007, Martha Stewart dedicated the center to Martha Kostyra, her 93-year-old mother. Ms. Stewart donated $5 million to Mount Sinai to bring the complex to life and change the way people approach aging. The center provides clinical care and education for patients, offer training for physicians and coordinate healthy-aging research.

The clinic is located on the main campus of the medical center. It will, however, continue to maintain a distinct identity from the rest of the hospital through the design of a new entry canopy. The symbol for the clinic is the bonsai tree because of its longevity and great beauty. The design of the clinic therefore establishes a zen-like simplicity of beautifully detailed materials and well-lit public spaces that flow into each other in a logical path of progression. Transparent and translucent fixed and sliding glass partitions enhance this effect.

All exam rooms are wheelchair accessible and are spacious enough for a patient to be accompanied by a loved one. The choice of equipment and its layout in these rooms is designed to maximize the comfort level of both the patient and caregiver.

Increasingly, the problem confronting the field of Geriatrics is not just life extension, but the quality of life issues that come with it. An important component of the new facility is rooms for patient education and activities such as stretching and yoga. With greater use of technology, the staff can be shifted away from activities involving medical records and accounting to one-on-one interaction with the clientele.

Mount Sinai is a teaching hospital and as such, another key component of the clinic is better facilities for residents-in-training. These include a viewing room with one-way mirrors to observe examinations without being seen and a greatly expanded Preceptor’s Room to review and discuss case histories.