中华人民共和国驻美国大使馆, 美国, 华盛顿特区
 x 
中华人民共和国驻美国大使馆
华盛顿特区, 美国

中华人民共和国驻美国大使馆新办公楼位于华盛顿特区西北隅的国际使馆中心的12号地块,总占地面积为10,760平方米。本地块由三块地块组成而成。基地北面为梵奈斯大街,其西侧为国际街,其南侧为国际路和中央公园。毗邻新加坡大使馆,美国联邦办公楼,以色列大使馆。

新建筑的设计尊重并借鉴其所在国际中心的特性,致力从建筑尺度和选材上与相邻建筑融为一体。整体使用、温暖细致米色法国石灰石,与华盛顿地区众多的石灰石传统联邦建筑十分协调。

新驻美使馆办公楼作为中华人民共和国驻美国的象征,其建筑设计和规划遵循了以时代观阐释中国传统建筑的规划原则。入口大堂的正南居中,室内外空间的次序条理以及庭园的巧妙运用从整体上达到了建筑与园林之间的和谐。按功能和基地的自然条件,使馆新办公楼分为三部分: 西翼办公区(紧靠联邦办公楼),东翼办公区(与新加坡大使馆相邻)和连接两翼的中部入口厅堂。

位于国际路北尽的入口大堂,其鲜明的现代建筑造型将成为中国驻美国大使馆的新标志。宾客可由大堂前往各会客室和宴会厅,以及用于重大外交活动的多功能厅和可容纳二百人的新闻发布厅。公共和办公空间中将放置各种传统及现代的艺术品,以向世界展示中国灿烂文化遗产。建筑设计内外统一,照明灯具精心设计以体现建筑的几何性。新办公楼采用先进的设备以确保使馆工作环境安全性和高效性。

位于办公楼的中部和东西二翼建筑间的庭园为建筑增添了宁静感和安全感,景观设计成为新建筑不可分割的组成部分。

中国驻美国大使馆新办公楼于2005年六月动工。作为首次由中国外交部委托国际建筑师设计的使馆建筑,整个建筑由专门来自中国的建筑人员施工建造。建成后,它将成为华盛顿地区最大的使馆建筑之一。

中国驻美国大使馆新办公楼正式启用典礼已於2008年七月29日举行。

EMBASSY OF THE PEOPLE’S REPUBLIC OF CHINA IN THE U.S.A. CHANCERY BLDG, WASHINGTON D.C., UNITED STATES
 x 
EMBASSY OF THE PEOPLE’S REPUBLIC OF CHINA IN THE U.S.A. CHANCERY BLDG
WASHINGTON D.C., UNITED STATES

With a total of 10,760 sq. meters, the site for the new Chancery Building is located within the International Center in the northwest quadrant of Washington, D.C. Consolidated from three separate lots, the site is bounded by Van Ness Street to the north, International Drive to the west, International Place and Central Park to the south and is adjacent to the Embassy of Singapore, the Federal Office Building, and the Embassy of Israel.

The new Chancery Building derives its design cues from the immediate context and character of the International Center and a desire to respect and blend with the scale and texture of the neighboring buildings. Warm beige-hued French limestone is used throughout the building in recognition of the limestone found in many government buildings of Washington, DC.

As the symbol of the People’s Republic of China in the United States, the new Chancery Building’s overall design is derived from a contemporary interpretation of traditional Chinese architectural planning principles. Its south facing symmetrical entrance layout, exterior and interior spatial sequences, and the use of gardens and outdoor spaces have resulted in a thoughtful and harmonious balance between the built form and the landscape. Based on the functional requirements and characteristics of the site, the new Chancery Building is composed of three distinct elements:  the West Office Wing (adjacent to the Federal Building), the East Office Wing (adjacent to the Embassy of Singapore), and the Entrance Pavilion linking the two wings.

Located at the end of the north-south portion of International Place, the Entrance Hall presents a distinguished, yet thoroughly modern and identifiable new symbol.  From the Entrance Hall, visitors can go to the public area which includes reception rooms, banquet halls and the Grand Hall where important diplomatic functions will take place. The new Chancery Building also features a 200-seat auditorium for press conferences. In various locations, modern and traditional artwork will be displayed to showcase China’s rich cultural heritage. The interior space uses the same design vocabulary as the exterior. Lighting fixtures have been specially designed to reflect the geometrical character of the overall space. Both public and office buildings have state-of-the-art facilities which create an optimal and secure working environment for the Chancery staff.

The landscape design of the new Chancery is integral to the building, as all three structures are unified by the gardens and exterior spaces creating an environment of serenity and security.

Construction of the New Chancery Building began in June 2005. This is the first Chinese Embassy building specially commissioned by the Chinese Ministry of Foreign Affairs to be designed by the world-renowned architects. The building was entirely built by Chinese construction workers who arrived specially for this project. The new Chinese Embassy is one of the largest embassies in Washington, DC.

An inauguration ceremony for the new Chancery Building was held on July 29, 2008.