贝建中, AIA

公司总裁兼美国建筑师协会会员

 

贝建中(Didi) 于1968年在哈佛大学以优异成绩获得物理学士学位,并于1972 年毕业于哈佛大学设计研究院,获得建筑学硕士学位。身为贝聿铭的次子,他在成长受教时期中,师承了父亲设计创作重大与永久性建筑所必需的远见卓识,责任感与专业水准。

他与兄弟贝礼中(Sandi) 在1992年一起创办贝氏建筑事务所之前,贝建中将他的专业创作生涯最初的20 年贡献于贝聿铭及合伙人,作品包括美国华盛顿特区国家美术馆(1978)及法国巴黎卢浮宫(设计施工协理合伙人,1992)等众多的著名建筑项目。在那里,他发展并得到了在设计博物馆以及医疗设施建筑方面公认专业经验与技术专长。他也为波士顿艺术博物馆西馆扩建工程的项目建筑师与主管设计师(1981,1986)。他也为其他博物馆/文化艺术设施项目的贡献,其中包括马萨诸塞州的约翰·菲茨杰拉德·肯尼迪图书馆(1979)以及卢森堡现代艺术中心(2006)。他同时为北京香山饭店(1982),西奈山医院古根汉听及阿拉巴马州 博名汉Kirklin 医疗(1992)的设计负责人。

贝先生维持他在医疗卫生保健领域的专才。他为西奈山完成了两项工作项目:神经外科手术室的更新改造,以及一个7800平方尺的老年保健外诊中心-玛莎‧斯图尔特生活中心。他引领贝氏建筑工作团队,为加利福尼亚大学洛杉矶分校南区准备了整体区域规划。亦为取代了因1994北陵地震而严重损毁的百万尺罗纳德·里根加利福尼亚大学洛杉矶分校医学中心。他为学校的持久贡献使他荣获得了大学最高荣誉,加利福尼亚大学洛杉矶分校奖章。

贝建中是中国北京中国银行总行办公大楼(2001),以及将在2011年三月竣工、世界上的最大银行中国工商银行总行办公大楼(ICBC)扩建工程的设计负责人。他于2003年完成了一个西岸著名公司的领导办公室,在2006年完成了此项目并荣获2009年美国建筑师协会/美国图书馆协会图书馆建筑设计奖、位于墨西哥里昂市瓜那加托图书馆项目的设计。贝建中领导设计位于华盛顿特区、2008年建成的中华人民共和国驻美国大使馆以及与贝聿铭合作、于2006年开幕遍为国际赞赏的中国苏州博物馆。在2010年,与Tsao & McKown 建筑事务所合作的建福宫花园整建亦获美国建筑师协会纽约州分部的设计荣誉奖项。

贝建中设计负责位于多哈卡塔尔市的伊斯兰艺术博物馆公园。将近七十英亩新月形的公园内包括一座新码头和广场,广场上摆放着由国际著名美国艺术家理查德·塞拉设计的竖向铁质雕塑。公园还包括新的公共设施:食品亭,餐厅,儿童活动区和其他文化设施。雕塑于2011年放置在广场内,公园将于2012年对外开放。他设计的建筑面积31000平方米的沙特阿拉伯达兰Alturki集团公司总部工程计划将于2010年竣工。两项贝先生于中国的建筑项目正处于施工阶段预计于2013年完工,其为位于青岛、面积为904,000 平方英尺青岛泰山基业,以及 55700平方米的郑州商品交易所大厦 。贝建中目前受托的其他项目包括:位于中国南京的包括博物馆,精品酒店以及商业办公的复合使用建筑;法国波尔多葡萄酒酿造厂;位于多哈卡达的伊斯兰美术馆,一座位于巴西圣保罗Faria Lima主要干道的办公建筑和一栋位于里约热内卢的私人住宅。

在他的建筑生涯中,贝建中为许多的专业及公民组织机构中的活跃成员,其中包括他担任美国建筑师协会中德拉诺·阿尔德里克荣誉委员会主席。并任纽约中国研究院理事会副主席。他也为纽约大学学院理事,以及哈佛大学设计研究生院校友会理事。他经常被邀请为建筑专业及教育等组织机构做关于建筑设计的演讲。他以设计为主题为当地的建筑师协会会员演讲,例如纽约州纽约市、佛罗里达州杰克逊维尔市、田纳西州孟菲斯市、犹他州盐湖城、加利福尼亚州橘郡、加利福尼亚州洛杉矶市以及加拿大温哥华市等地的协会会员。他担任了许多这样一些协会分会建筑设计奖委员会的评审委员。贝先生还在德克萨斯大学(奥斯丁),密歇根大学(安·阿博尔)以及哥伦比亚大学演讲。他也在华盛顿国家艺术博物馆与国家建筑博物馆演讲。在国际上,贝先生曾在中国、法国、意大利、墨西哥、阿鲁巴与巴西演讲。

CHIEN CHUNG PEI, AIA

Principal

Chien Chung (Didi) Pei earned a Bachelor of Arts cum laude in Physics from Harvard College in 1968 and graduated in 1972 from Harvard’s Graduate School of Design with a Master’s Degree in Architecture.  As the middle son of I.M. Pei, he was taught the vision, commitment and professional standards essential to the creation of significant and lasting architecture during his formative years.

Prior to founding Pei Partnership Architects in 1992 with his brother, Li Chung (Sandi), C.C. Pei spent the first 20 years of his professional career contributing to many of I.M. Pei and Partners’ most celebrated projects, including the National Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C. (1978) and the Grand Louvre in Paris (Associate Partner for Design + Administration, 1992). There, he developed nationally recognized expertise in museum architecture and medical facility design. He served as Designer-in-Charge of the West Wing extension and renovation of Boston’s Museum of Fine Arts (1981, 1986).  Other museum/cultural projects to which he contributed include the John Fitzgerald Kennedy Library in Massachusetts (1979) and the Centre d’Art Contemporain in Luxembourg (2006).  He was also Designer-in-Charge for the Fragrant Hill Hotel in Beijing (1982), the Mount Sinai Hospital Guggenheim Pavilion (1989) and the Kirklin Clinic in Birmingham, AL (1992).

Mr. Pei continues to maintain his presence in the health care domain. He has completed two projects at Mount Sinai Hospital: neurosurgery operating rooms and the Martha Stewart Center for Living, a 7,800-square-foot outpatient geriatric wellness center. He led the PPA team that prepared the Master Plan for the UCLA South Campus and was Partner-in-Charge of the one million-square-foot Ronald Reagan UCLA Medical Center that completely replaced the existing hospital badly damaged by the 1994 Northridge Earthquake. He was awarded the UCLA Medal, the university’s highest honor, in recognition of his enduring contribution to that institution.

He was Partner-in-Charge of both the Bank of China Head Office Building in Beijing, China (2001) and the extension to the corporate headquarters of the Industrial and Commercial Bank of China (ICBC), the world’s largest bank, which opened to the public in March 2011. He completed the executive offices of a well-known company on the West Coast in 2003 and led the design of the Guanajuato State Library in Leon, Mexico in 2006, a project which was recognized with the 2009 AIA/ALA Library Building Design award. C.C. Pei also directed the design of the new chancery building for the Embassy of the People’s Republic of China in Washington, DC which was completed in 2008 and the Suzhou Museum, designed in collaboration with I.M. Pei, which opened to international acclaim in 2006. In 2010, the Jianfu Palace Garden restoration, executed in conjunction with Tsao & McKown Architects, received a Citation for Design from the New York State division of the American Institute of Architects.

C.C. Pei was Partner-in-Charge of the Museum of Islamic Art Park in Doha, Qatar, which opened to the public in 2012. The nearly 70-acre crescent-shaped Park includes a new pier and plaza as the setting for a monumental vertical steel sculpture by internationally acclaimed American artist Richard Serra. The Park also contains new public facilities such as food kiosks, restaurants, children’s activities and other cultural amenities. Two of Mr. Pei’s projects in China are currently under construction and scheduled for completion in 2013: the 904,000-square-foot Fortune Center – Qingdao Taishan Real Estate Development as well as a 55,700 square-meter Commodity Exchange Building in Zhengzhou. C.C. Pei’s other current commissions include a multi-use complex with a museum and boutique hotel in Nanjing, China; a State Guest House Hotel in Chifeng, China; the Château Lynch-Bages winery in Bordeaux, France and an office building along the main avenue, Faria Lima in São Paulo.

Throughout his career, C.C. Pei has played an active role in a number of professional and civic organizations including the American Institute of Architects, where he serves as Chairman of the Delano-Aldrich Fellowship Committee. He is Vice Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the China Institute in New York City. He was a trustee of the Collegiate School in New York City and served on the Alumni Council of the Harvard Graduate School of Design. He has frequently been called upon to lecture to professional and educational organizations on architectural design. He has lectured on design topics to local AIA chapters in such places as New York, NY; Jacksonville, FL; Memphis, TN; Salt Lake City, UT; Orange County, CA, Los Angeles, CA; and Vancouver, BC.  He has served as a jury member for architectural design awards in many of these same chapters. Mr. Pei has lectured at the University of Texas (Austin), the University of Michigan (Ann Arbor), and Columbia University. He has also lectured at the National Gallery of Art and the National Building Museum, both in Washington, D.C. and at the John F. Kennedy Library in Boston. Internationally, Mr. Pei has lectured in China, France, Italy, Mexico, Aruba, England, Brazil and Colombia.